The mission is far from accomplished in 2016, but the Alabama football team has already achieved something that hasn't happened a whole lot since Bear Bryant retired in 1982.

With the 30-12 victory over the Auburn Tigers on Saturday, the Crimson Tide finished the regular season with a perfect record of 12-0. Even with the incredible success in Tuscaloosa over the past decade, that's a milestone that's been reached just twice under head coach Nick Saban.

The 2008 Alabama football team ran the table in the regular season before losing the SEC Championship Game and Sugar Bowl, while the 2009 team won Saban's first national championship at the school and did so without losing a single contest. That squad also became the first team in school history to win 14 games.

To get a sense of how impressive an undefeated record is, we went back 50 years through the Alabama record books to see how frequently this has occurred. As you'll see, there have been 10 total seasons where the Tide didn't lose a game before the postseason, and Saturday marked the fifth time since the Bryant era.

Here are the list of undefeated regular seasons over the past 50 years along with the final record:

  • 2016 - Alabama finishes 12-0 in regular season with games remaining
  • 2009 - Alabama finishes 14-0 with SEC Championship and national championship
  • 2008 - Alabama finishes 12-2 after losing SEC Championship and Sugar Bowl
  • 1994 - Alabama finishes 12-1 after losing SEC Championship and winning Citrus Bowl
  • 1992 - Alabama finishes 13-0 with SEC Championship and national championship
  • 1979 - Alabama finishes 12-0 with Sugar Bowl win over Arkansas and national championship
  • 1974 - Alabama finishes 11-1 after losing to Notre Dame in Orange Bowl
  • 1973 - Alabama finishes 11-1 after losing to Notre Dame in Sugar Bowl
  • 1971 - Alabama finishes 11-1 after losing to Nebraska in Orange bowl
  • 1966 - Alabama finishes 11-0 but doesn't win national championship

Of the 9 undefeated regular seasons prior to this year, Alabama lost in the postseason five times. This year's team has at least two more games remaining with the potential for a third. If they could win out, the Crimson Tide would become the first national champion to win 15 games in a single season.