Alabama senior Eddie Jackson has been named to the 2016 Jim Thorpe Award watch list announced today by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame.Jackson is among 39 defensive backs from around the country named to the preseason list. Jackson was a semifinalist for the award in 2015. Antonio Langham previously won the award for Alabama in 1993 and is the Crimson Tide’s only winner.

Jackson, who has also been named to the watch lists for the Bednarik Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy, returns for his final season after transitioning from corner to safety last spring and excelling in that role as a junior. His standout play earned him a spot on the All-SEC First Team by the conference coaches and Associated Press following the 2015 slate. He also received second team All-America honors from Walter Camp and the FWAA, while being tabbed a third team All-American by the Associated Press last season after leading Alabama in interceptions with six - two returned for touchdowns. Jackson also had a forced fumble and fumble recovery to go with his 46 tackles. He accumulated 230 return yards on his interceptions, shattering the previous Crimson Tide all-time record of 163 that was set in 1952. Jackson wrapped up the 2015 season as the SEC leader in interceptions and was tied for seventh in the national ranks.

The Jim Thorpe Award has been presented annually since 1986 by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame to recognize the top defensive back in college football. The award is named in honor of multi-sport legend Jim Thorpe. The 2016 winner will be announced at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December.