Alabama safety Eddie Jackson has been named to the 2016 Walter Camp Player of the Year Preseason Watch List announced Friday by the Walter Camp Foundation. Jackson was a Walter Camp Second Team All-America selection in 2015.

Jackson is one of 40 “players to watch” from around the country named to the preseason list for an award that recognizes the top player in college football. Running back Derrick Henry became the first Alabama player to win the award when he took home the hardware in 2015.

Jackson returns for his final season after transitioning from corner to safety last spring and excelling in that role as a junior. His standout play earned him a spot on the All-SEC First Team by the conference coaches and Associated Press following the 2015 slate. He also received second team All-America honors from Walter Camp and the Football Writers Association of America, while being tabbed a third team All-American by the Associated Press last season after leading Alabama in interceptions with six - two returned for touchdowns.

He accumulated 230 return yards on his six interceptions, shattering the previous Crimson Tide all-time record of 163 that was set in 1952. Jackson wrapped up the 2015 season as the SEC leader in interceptions and was tied for seventh in the national ranks. Jackson also forced a fumble and recovered one to go with his 46 tackles by season’s end.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year Award has been presented annually since 1967 by the Walter Camp Foundation to recognize the nation’s most outstanding player in college football. The award is named in honor of Walter Camp, “The Father of American Football,” who is credited with numerous innovations in the game.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The 2016 Walter Camp Player of the year recipient, which is voted on by the 128 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, Dec. 8. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s 50th annual national awards banquet on Jan. 14, 2017, at the Yale University Commons in New Haven, Conn.