Alabama senior tight end O.J. Howard and junior punter JK Scott have been named to the 2016 Wuerffel Award watch list announced today by the All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach (Fla.).

The duo are among 88 players from around the country named to the preseason list for an award that focuses not only a student-athletes contributions on the field, but also in the community. Barrett Jones previously won the award for Alabama in 2011.

Howard begins his senior season as one of the most dynamic tight end options in college football, presenting a mismatch for most defenses in the passing game. He broke out in the final contest of the 2015 season, earning Offensive MVP honors against Clemson in the College Football Playoff National Championship Game after hauling in five catches for a career-high and national championship game high 208 yards and two touchdowns against the Tigers. All five of his catches converted first downs and went for 15-plus yards with a career-long 63-yard reception in the fourth quarter of the title game. His total receiving yards against the Tigers were an Alabama bowl record. By season’s end, Howard collected 38 catches for 602 yards and a team-high 15.8 yards per catch average in 2015. Always a reliable option, 24 of his catches converted first downs for the Tide with nine of 20 yards or more.

Scott produced the best season for a punter in Alabama football history as a true freshman in 2014 when he earned first team All-America honors from The Sporting News. He followed that with a solid outing in 2015, averaging 44.2 yards per punt - a total he improved upon as the season progressed - with a long of 59 yards. Scott forced 18 fair catches and pinned 25 of his punts inside the 20-yard line last season. He boasts a career average of 45.9 yards per punt on 125 career kicks and has dropped 56 career punts inside the 20-yard line with 44 going for 50 yards or more. As a freshman in 2014, Scott led the nation in punting at 48.0 yards per kick and net punting at 44.7 yard per boot.

The Wuerffel has been presented annually since 2005 by the All Sports Association to recognize the college football player "who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement." The award is named in honor after former Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel of Florida. The winner will be named on December 6 in New York.