The Maxwell Football Club (MFC) and adidas today announced the 2016 finalists for the Maxwell Club's National High School Player of the Year Award, which is presented yearly by adidas to the nation's best scholastic football player.

Players have been selected by the MFC National Selection Committee and the six finalists are:

First Name Last Name Position High School City State
Cam Akers RB Clinton High School Clinton MS
Najee Harris RB Antioch High School Antioch CA
Darnay Holmes DB Calabasas High School Calabasas CA
Tate Martell QB Bishop Gorman High School Las Vegas NV
Dylan Moses LB IMG Academy Bradenton FL
Jaelan Phillips DL Redlands East Valley High School Redlands CA

Akers is a versatile athlete who could play a variety of positions at the next level. As a running back, he is strong, physical and can run through tackles. He can run inside or on the perimeter with his size and skill-set. The five-star running back prospect who led the Arrows to the 6A state championship while playing quarterback, had 3,128 passing yards and 31 touch downs with 2,105 rushing yards and 34 rushing touchdowns.

The No. 3 recruit nationally according to ESPN, Najee Harris had 2,776 yards on 291 carries, a 9.5 yards-per-carry average in helping the Antioch Panthers to an 8-5 record. He had 34 touchdowns and a dozen 100-yard games. Harris is due to participate in the U.S. Army All-American Bowl in San Antonio on Jan. 7

The 5-foot-10, 190-pound Holmes is an early enrollee, which means after he plays in the U.S. Army All-American Bowl in early January, that he will be enrolling at the school of his choice, so that he can go through winter workouts and spring practice. He is ranked as a 5-star, the No. 12 overall player, No. 2 cornerback, and, No. 3 player in California for 2017, has made all his visits and is now in decision-making mode.

Martell has won the Gatorade Nevada State Player of the Year twice - once a sophomore and this year. This season, Martell led the Gaels to another undefeated season and a third consecutive Super 25 championship. He finished his career with a 45-0 record and 113 touchdown passes. As a senior, he completed 136 of 215 passes for 2,362 yards and 41 touchdowns with just one interception. He also rushed for 1,257 yards and 21 touchdowns.

Moses is a prototype linebacker with rare speed and exceptional knockback body power. He's been a force the last four years since he arrived in high school and is consistently impactful wherever he lines up. Moses collected 147 tackles and two sacks in 11 games as a senior and will be an early enrollee at the University of Alabama in January. Last week Moses was honored as the winner of the high school as the top prep linebacker in the nation.

Phillips is a very productive edge defender with the size to operate on the line of scrimmage and the speed and athleticism to play out in space. Phillips has a great frame and moves very well in tight areas, a nightmare combination for opposing linemen. He is able to drop in to coverage well, play in space and is a naturally gifted pass rusher. Phillips is a disruptive up field presence who utilizes his elite quickness and pace on the defensive front.

The Maxwell Football Club National HS Player of the Year award was established in 2007 and former winners include Jacob Eason (2015 Lake Stevens HS - Georgia), Trenton Thompson (2014 Westover HS - Georgia), Will Grier (2013 Davidson Day School - Florida), Derrick Henry (2012 Yulee HS - Alabama), Noah Spence (2011 Bishop McDevitt HS - Ohio State), Jeff Driskel (2010 Hagerty HS - Florida), Sharif Floyd (2009 George Washington HS - Florida), Jamarkus McFarland (2008 Lufkin HS - Oklahoma) and DeVier Posey (2007 Cincinnati LaSalle HS - Ohio State).

The Maxwell Football Club has been recognizing excellence at all levels of football since 1935 and has a major focus on high school football nationally, while adidas currently outfits over 30 collegiate FBS (Football Bowl Subdivision) teams as well as some of the top high school programs in the country.

The winner of the 2015 MFC NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD PRESENTED BY ADIDAS will be announced on Monday January 19, 2017. The formal presentation of the award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club National Awards Gala that will take place on Friday March 10, 2017 at the Tropicana Hotel and Casino in Atlantic City, New Jersey.