Twelve Southeastern Conference football teams learned their post-season bowl destinations on Sunday, including No. 1-ranked Alabama which will play No. 4 Washington in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on December 31 in a semifinal game in the College Football Playoff.
 
On Sunday, the College Football Playoff committee first selected teams for the national semifinal games, the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl.  The committee later announced the participants in the Allstate Sugar Bowl, Capital One Orange Bowl, Good Year Cotton Bowl and the Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual.
 
From the SEC, Auburn will play Oklahoma in the Allstate Sugar Bowl as the highest ranked SEC team in the CFP rankings not included in the national semifinals.
 
Next, the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl selected LSU from the SEC to play an opponent from the ACC.
 
This marks the third year the conference assigned league schools to a “Pool of Six” bowls that include the Belk Bowl in Charlotte, the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl in Houston, the TaxSlayer Bowl in Jacksonville, the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis, the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl in Nashville and the Outback Bowl in Tampa.
 
Texas A&M will play a Big 12 opponent in the AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl, Arkansas will play an ACC opponent in the Belk Bowl, Georgia will play Big 12 opponent in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl, Tennessee will play a Big Ten opponent in the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl, Kentucky will play an ACC opponent in the TaxSlayer Bowl and Florida will play a Big Ten opponent in the Outback Bowl.
 
The selection process for the Pool of Six bowls was based on preferences expressed by the SEC’s bowl eligible schools, input from the SEC’s affiliated bowls, travel considerations, attention to previous matchups and additional relevant factors.
 
“The Pool of Six participants are determined after conversations with bowl partners and discussions with school personnel in order to create a lineup of compelling bowl games for our schools and their fans,” said SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey. “This process provides an opportunity to create intriguing matchups, consider potential attendance factors and variations of assignments to help prevent repetitive postseason destinations.”
 
Following the Pool of Six bowls, the Birmingham Bowl selected South Carolina to play an opponent from the American Athletic Conference and the Camping World Independence Bowl selected Vanderbilt to play an ACC opponent.  In addition, Mississippi State qualified for the St. Petersburg Bowl with a 5-7 record by virtue of how its Academic Progress Rate ranked among other schools with a similar record.
 
COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF BOWLS
 
Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl (Atlanta) – Alabama vs. Washington – Dec. 31 – 3 pm ET / 2 pm CT – ESPN
Allstate Sugar Bowl (New Orleans) – Auburn vs. Oklahoma – Jan. 2 – 8:30 pm ET / 7:30 pm CT - ESPN
 
SEC-AFFILIATED BOWLS:
 
Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl (Orlando) – LSU vs. Louisville – Dec. 31 – 11 am ET / 10 am CT – ABC
 
Pool of Six Bowls:
 
AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl (Houston) – Texas A&M vs. Kansas State – Dec. 28 – 9 pm ET / 8 pm CT – ESPN
Belk Bowl (Charlotte) – Arkansas vs. Virginia Tech – Dec. 29 – 5:30 pm ET / 4:30 pm CT – ESPN
AutoZone Liberty Bowl (Memphis) – Georgia vs. TCU – Dec. 30 – 12 pm ET / 11 am CT – ESPN
Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl (Nashville) – Tennessee vs. Nebraska - Dec. 30 – 3:30 pm ET / 2:30 pm CT – ESPN
TaxSlayer Bowl (Jacksonville) – Kentucky vs. Georgia Tech – Dec. 31 – 11 am ET / 10 am CT – ESPN
Outback Bowl (Tampa) – Florida vs. Iowa – Jan. 2 – 1 pm ET / 12 pm CT - ABC
 
Additional SEC-Affiliated Bowls:
 
Camping World Independence Bowl – Vanderbilt vs. NC State – Dec. 26 – 5 pm ET / 4 pm CT – ESPN2
Birmingham Bowl (Birmingham) – South Carolina vs. South Florida – Dec. 29 – 2 pm ET / 1 pm CT – ESPN
 
Other:
 
St. Petersburg Bowl (St. Petersburg) – Mississippi State vs. Miami (OH) – Dec. 26 – 11 am ET / 10 am CT - ESPN