Alabama quarterback Jalen Hurts and offensive lineman Jonah Williams were named to the Southeastern Conference All-Freshman Team, the conference office announced on Thursday. The team was voted on by the league's 14 head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Hurts, who earned All-SEC, Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors earlier in the week, has started 12 games for the Tide this season and is the first true freshman to start at quarterback for Alabama since 1984. The Channelview, Texas, native is already the school’s single-season quarterback rushing leader and is on the verge of breaking the season records for touchdown responsibility and total offense. Hurts has thrown for 2,592 yards and 22 touchdowns and rushed for 841 yards and 12 touchdowns this season.

Williams, from Folsom, Calif., has started all 13 games at right tackle this season and is a key member of an Alabama offensive line that is clearing the way for a balanced attack that leads the SEC in scoring at 40.5 points per game and is second in total offense (471.3 yards per game), rushing offense (245.0 yards per game) and yards per rushing attempt (5.7).

2016 SEC All-Freshman Team 


TE -   Isaac Nauta, Georgia

OL -  Jonah Williams, Alabama

Jawaan Taylor, Florida

Greg Little, Ole Miss

Logan Stenberg, Kentucky

C -     Erik McCoy, Texas A&M

WR - Dimetrios Mason, Missouri

Van Jefferson, Ole Miss

QB - Jalen Hurts, Alabama

RB - Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky

Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M

AP - Jonathan Johnson, Missouri



DL - Jabari Zuniga, Florida

Marlon Davidson, Auburn

Ed Alexander, LSU

McTelvin Agim, Arkansas*

Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State*

LB -   Leo Lewis, Mississippi State

Devin White, LSU

De'Jon Harris, Arkansas

DB - Javaris Davis, Auburn

Nigel Warrior, Tennessee

Ronnell Perkins, Missouri

Jaylon Jones, Ole Miss


Special Teams

PK - Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia

P -     Josh Growden, LSU

RS - Jonathan Johnson, Missouri