Alabama head football coach Nick Saban was selected as one of 16 semifinalists for the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award, Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced Friday morning.

Saban has led the Crimson Tide to a 10-0 record this season and the No. 1 spot in the College Football Playoff rankings. His defense has once again been one of the best in the country, ranking first nationally in rushing defense (68.8 yards per game) and is second nationally in scoring defense (12.2 points per game) and total defense (259.5 yards per game). Offensively, the Tide leads the SEC in scoring (41.2 points per game) and ranks 11th nationally in rushing offense (255.2 yards per game).

This is the ninth straight season UA has won at least 10 games under head coach Nick Saban. The Crimson Tide will also appear in its sixth SEC Championship Game under Saban, and the third in a row.

Semifinalist voting for of the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Friday, Nov. 18 and close on Sunday, Dec. 11. The final round will include the top three coaches as selected in the semifinalist round. Finalist voting will open Dec. 12 and run until Dec. 27. The winner will be announced on Dec. 29.